Contact Email List
FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

LED Worklights...Got me stumped

Moderator: -Scott-

<<

turkey

User avatar

Posts: 534

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:38 pm

Location: On The Beach

Post Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:26 pm

LED Worklights...Got me stumped

Hi, I need some help please!

I am trying to wire up 2 new worklights to existing wiring on my roofrack. My old lights worked fine just one of the mounts broke and wanted to upgrade. All my accessories are hooked up through a marine switchboard with each accessory on an individualy fused(running 15 amp fuses) toggle switch which works fine with everything else. Getting 16.8 volts at every switch. My problem is the new lights just will not work on the existing wiring. I have tried them hard wired to my battery at 16.8 volts and no problem. Have tried them through the cig socket plug on same switchboard, no problem. Have checked voltage at the wiring with the switch flicked on and it too is at 16.8 volts. The old lights work fine when hooked back up. Have had this setup for 5 years and never missed a beat.

Can someone please tell me wtf is going on? TIA

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2x-LED-Work- ... RTM1769189

These are the lights in question
"The Bushpig"
<<

stilivn

User avatar

Posts: 1124

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:56 pm

Location: central coast down under

Post Fri Apr 18, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: LED Worklights...Got me stumped

May be too simple but have you swapped positive negatives as led's will only run one way.
1993 80 series, 4" tough dog adjustable bb lift kit, LPG, 35" MTR'S

brooksy wrote:Branden Tagg.....He is the King of all f@rkups & a Gimps bitch after hours
<<

CRUZAAMAD

User avatar

Posts: 737

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:12 pm

Location: SMUGGLING COOOOOKIES ACROSS THE MEXICAN BORDER

Post Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:46 pm

Re: LED Worklights...Got me stumped

Other thing could be a dud set of lights

not too sure if you need a diode on this setup..

i ran a led as a reverse wired in
and only one diode
setup another camp light on the same line and kept blowing fuses ALOT
ended up disconnecting the diode and worked fine
ever since

now i need to run 2diodes in line to not blow again
AUSTRALIA
WORTH LOOKING AT WORTH LOOKING AFTER

Return to Auto Electrical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.
eBay Sniper
Time : 0.089s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off | Load : 0.23